Friday, May 1, 2009

Survivor Mania

I have been trying to look at my personality objectively, and have come to realize I am an obsessive person. I don't think I am Obsessive-Compulsive, just Obsessive (contrary to whatever previous blogs have said!) I have found a get really obsessed with an idea, a tv-show, food, hobby and am like a dog with a bone. I just won't let it go. I found if I fight it, it takes longer to get over; if I go with it, I can move on faster and have a few weeks of calm without having an obsession. Some recent examples: Forums on MomsCharlotte, exercising, needing to get pierced, Facebook, YoVille, Texas Hold'em, my blog. So what does all of this enlightenment have to do with Survivor? Here it is...

Alex, Olivia and I have really become obsessed with Survivor (Ok, I have and am forcing it on them). I have been getting previous seasons from Netflix, so we watch Survivor almost every night. I had this crazy idea last night of going on a Survivor Diet. Well, Olivia being a typical teenage girl latches on to the idea. So we have set up a plan and it goes into effect tomorrow.

We each get a cup of rice and 3 oz of protein, plus drinking 100 oz of water a day. We are going to set up 'mini-challenges' for ourselves, and the winner gets an extra 2 oz of protein at dinner. We are both so excited about it. We are going to weigh ourselves and do this for a week. Neither one of us expect to keep whatever weight off that we lose, but think it will be fun to see what the contestants put themselves through on a small scale (plus the comforts of a bed and shower). Hopefully I won't be too lethargic and will be able to keep you posted on our progress.

Alex, is not joining us. When we told him about it and just shook his head, (he knows we are crazy). He asked will there still be food in the house for him and the kids, and I said Of Course! So he just shook his head again, OK crazy lady...enjoy your bone!

Thursday, April 30, 2009

Mama said there'd be days like these...

Some days the whining and crying can just wear me down, the dog is underfoot, the laundry is piled up and dust bunnies are procreating well, like bunnies. But then there are days like today, Venus is aligned with Jupiter's shadow and Mars is rising in Venus' eclipse or something or another. All I know is today is golden, and I want it to move a little bit slower so I can savor it.

Everyone in the house woke up in a great mood, we got out the door on time and are on schedule. I just laid the twins down for a morning nap. I just opened the gate and they were happy to race up the stairs to the cribs. Sean is playing with his feet jabbering away. I believe he is telling Katie a bed-time story. She is listening with her undivided attention. Earlier Katie was following Bandit around the house laughing and giggling. Sean then thought it would be fun to feed Bandit a bottle of milk and Katie was hand feeding him her cereal. Cole was dancing to the Imagination Movers and Katie was trying to sing and dance with him.

I know the dust, laundry, and dishes should be bothering me, but I'll get to them a little later. I just want to enjoy my children today. Funny enough, I just realized my own shirt is inside out! Good times, good times. I think Cole and I are going to snuggle up on the couch with a big bowl of popcorn and watch a movie while the twins are napping.

Monday, April 13, 2009

Herding Cats

It just didn't seem right to mix the 2 blogs together. I have all kinds of news about the kids. Let's see. My babies are walking! WALKING! Have you ever heard the expression, "Herding cats" Well that is what chasing 1 year old twins around the house is like. I have gates up all over, it is just for containment. Alex wants to take the gates down so the twins can learn to navigate the stairs. He reminds me Cole was up and down the stairs by 10 months. So I remind him, there were two of us to chase 1 child. Now it is 3 children. 3. Are you nuts? We have three floors in our townhouse and the main living area is the second floor. So while 1 child is going up, one is going down and the other is in the bathroom doing only God knows what. No! I NEED containment for my sanity.

Yesterday was Olivia's 17th birthday. Crazy. We are getting letters in the mail from every college and university in the country it seems. She is driving (learner's permit now - license next month), she has a steady boyfriend and is getting ready for Prom. She got her hair highlighted and is starting to tan in preparation. This weekend we'll start shopping for Prom dresses, which I am so excited about. I may be more excited than she is!

Cole is as precocious as he has ever been. The other day, he and Alex were walking down the stairs and he looks out the front window. "Shit! It's raining!" Then he goes to the back door and looks out, "SHIT! It's raining here too!" I am so glad that it was with Alex, I think I would've laughed so hard it would've just encouraged him more. He now understands that is a word we don't say, so he keeps reminding Daddy, that is "not very, not nice."

The video of the kids walking is about 5 minutes, so I chose a 30 second video instead, just so you could see how cute they are!



Well at the moment, I can smell a stinky diaper so I need to go herd the cats...

Did you really pierce your tongue?

Has it really been a month since I last Blogged! Shame on me. Just shock and disgust...well, okay...I'm not going to go that far but I should at least have my hand slapped and be put in time-out. Yes! Time-out! Please may I have a Time-Out! I'll sit very quietly on the naughty-stair for 35 minutes. (You know, 1 minute for every year old that you are.) Ah, silent bliss....one can dream.

So looking back at my last blog entry, I named it Mid-Life Crisis. HA! That is funny, see about 2 weeks ago I went and got my nose, tongue and belly button pierced. I thought Alex was going to flip his lid when I got home, but surprisingly he liked it! He thought I was just going to get my nose pierced. I knew if I told him I was going to do the others, he would've either talked me out of it or at least do one at a time. The next day, I decided if I could take all those then I was going to put a second set of holes in my ears. I got an old set of piercing studs out of the jewelry box and did it myself. I'm done now. Everyone keeps asking if I am going to get a tattoo next. No. Never wanted one. They are too permanent.

Now, Olivia recorded me getting my tongue pierced. I am going to try and add it to the blog - hopefully I won't have any issues.

Watch at your own risk!!

Friday, March 13, 2009

Mid Life Crisis?


On the way to school today I was pondering what makes a mid-life crisis. Amy, who is still in her 30's is a little spooked that a friend her age just became a grandparent. As I was telling Olivia about it, she was shocked. "That would have to be, like, two accidents at, like, 18 or something!" Well, yes it does happen.

So I was just rambling about my thoughts aloud. Olivia was doing her make-up so I didn't really think she was paying attention anyway. But she is, and she told me not to worry, my kids are way to young for this to happen to me. (Really? Are you sure? Do you need to think about that some more...She is so literal sometimes, I just love it) I must've given her a look because she added on, even her Mom won't becoming a grandparent anytime soon!

So on this train of thought, I'm thinking about how Alex and I have lost our Moms and a dear friend, Hank, his Mom passed away two days ago. I realize we are at the age that this starts to happen. People who mean the world to us, are passing. How can this happen? I always thought the complaining about aging was about the aches and pains you get as you grow older, the loss of memory or incontinence. I'm starting to believe that is just minor. The pain you feel of losing your family and loved ones, and watching friends go through the same thing, that is what is really hard about aging.

Getting in touch with old friends on Facebook has just confirmed that. In the past month Alex and I have each had old friends who have lost their spouses. One was sudden and unexpected, the other was a slow progression due to Lou Gehrig's disease. My heart truly aches for both of them and their children. We are way too young to be losing spouses. This just can't be. I mention maybe this is why people have a mid life crisis. I start to realize Alex and I are old enough for this stuff to happen.

Olivia graciously offers to help me get through it, if I am indeed having one. So I humor her and ask like getting a tattoo and piercings? (She has been begging to get her belly button pierced.) She says no tattoos, they are too permanent, but piercings can be removed if we don't like them.

Cole pipes up from the backseat, "Lee-la, you are not-very not-nice to my mommy!!! You nee-ed to get a tattoo with her!"

Olivia and I laughed so hard, Cole got mad at us because he was very serious. I just love three year olds!

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

#21 Daddy's Girlfriend

I have had a lot of feedback regarding my previous post of "What is your favorite thing about Daddy? His Girlfriend."

Just to clarify, I am Daddy's girlfriend! Cole has been talking about boyfriends and girlfriends for a few weeks. He asked me to be his girlfriend and to marry him when he grows up. I explained that I was Daddy's girlfriend and we are already married. I told him what a great kid he is and he will have an easy time finding a girlfriend.

He has already moved on. He has decided he wants several girlfriends. He still misses Rory, his first girlfriend from Preschool, but he now has Ella and India. I generally have coffee every Weds morning with friends and he gets to play with the girls. And I cannot forget to mention, his true girlfriend, Jenna.

Jenna is one of Olivia's best friends, 17 and driving and loves Cole to pieces. Cole will often ask Olivia to call Jenna so he may profess his love. I just don't want Jenna's boyfriend to find out. I know he wouldn't stand a chance against Cole's charm and good looks!

So sorry it isn't more exciting, but I am Daddy's Girlfriend!

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Kid Questionnaire


Kid Questionnaire
Ask your child(ren) to answer the questions and type their answers in.
Tag other moms with older kids who might have fun with this. :)

Cole - age 3.5


1. What is something mom always says to you?
"No!," silly

2. What makes mom happy?
Dinosaurs

3. What makes mom sad?
Crying.

4. How does your mom make you laugh?
You tickle me.

5. What was your mom like as a child?
A little kid like me.

6. How old is your mom?
Three.

7. How tall is your mom?
Big.

8. What is her favorite thing to watch on TV?
Diego. (???)

9. What does your mom do when you're not around?
Fart. (??!!)

10. If your mom becomes famous, what will it be for?
Poor Mom. I like you, but nope.

Mom, I love you and I like you, but that's enough questions right now. I'm a little busy. (As he's taking a bath!)

11. What is your mom really good at?
Nothing.

12. What is your mom not very good at?
You're just not very good.

13. What does your mom do for her job?
You bam, bam, bam and fix things.

14. What is your mom's favorite food?
Lunch!

15. What makes you proud of your mom?
When you take me to the park.

16. If your mom were a cartoon character, who would she be?
Cosmo (Fairly Odd Parents)

17. What do you and your mom do together?
Play at the park.

18. How are you and your mom the same?
We're life. ( I think he was saying we're alive?)

19. How are you and your mom different?
You're different when you're mad.

20. How do you know your mom loves you?
Because I love you and I'm happy.

21. What does your mom like most about your dad?
His girlfriend.

22. Where is your mom's favorite place to go?
The park.

Thursday, January 29, 2009

If you have bad news, you'd better tell me today!

So, I have been working out every single day. I do weight training twice a week, and cardio every day. If I can't get to the gym for cardio, I make sure and get outside and walk. I wear my heart monitor so I can set my pace right.

Well, Tuesday, I had a dentist appointment for a check-up and cleaning. I mentioned how my crown has been bothering me. It has been giving me an earache and sore throat type of feeling. Well they scheduled me for a root canal immediately. So I found myself at the endodontist yesterday morning getting a root canal instead of the gym. Unfortunately that was the only time I had to work-out. The twins had their 1 yr check-up with 3 shots each after that. They have been cranky, fussy and running fevers ever since. They just want me to hold them. I know that is normal and to be expected, but man I really missed my workout. I am on edge. I think I have gotten addicted to it. With them running fevers, I can't take them to the gym's child watch. So I have to wait until Olivia gets home from school, so she can watch the kids for me. I am just clock watching until it's time to pick her up. I guess this must be how a junkie feels when they need a fix. If it wasn't so freaking cold outside, I put the kids in the wagon and go. (Can't really use the stroller for all three, and Cole just doesn't like the speed walking thing.)

The good news is even though my jaw is sore from the root canal, it stills so much better than the earache that I have had for the last 8 months. I had been to about 5 different doctors trying to figure out that damn pain. Not one suggested I go see a dentist, that maybe it was being caused by a tooth. Oh well. At least between working out regularly and the pain gone, I feel about 10 years younger! I actually feel so damn good, I can't even be mad.

Oh. I have also hit a plateau. Betsy told me it would happen, but it also still sucks. I still feel so good, I can't be mad about it. TMI ALERT: As if the root canal and the twins shots weren't enough on the same day, I also started my period. What do I do? Instead of being upset, pissed or hormonal, I am tickled because I actually had a normal 28 day cycle. I don't think I have ever done that in my life. It has got to be the regular exercise and diet.

So I guess if you want to piss me off, today would be the day. I'd probably just laugh it off anyway.

Sunday, January 18, 2009

Am I a Masochist?

Working out with Betsy is a little like Sadism and Masochism. You know, S and M, but without all the leather and bondage gear. I think she may get a little too much enjoyment out of my pain. Oddly enough, I keep going back for more. I noticed she watches my face intensely for a reaction when she shows me a new exercise to do. I must be very expressive, I know she is secretly trying to kill me and it must show. She has me doing exercises that I didn't know was possible for my body to do. I have got to say though, she really, really knows what she is doing. I have been giving it my all and I have lost 5 lbs already. (Yeah me!)

With the kids being sick this week, I wasn't able to get to the gym for cardio and have been doing it at home in the evenings. I still made my sessions with her and obviously it has been effective, but I missed going to the Y everyday. It makes me feel special and worthy when I go (queue Dana Carvey.) The time, it's all about me. Plus, I'm guaranteed to get a shower, which in a normal day is no small feat!

Back to Betsy, I know how tough and intimidating she looks. She could kick my butt in a heartbeat. (Wait, she already does. Twice a week, at that!) But underneath the toughness, she is a very genuine person. What you see is what you get. I absolutely adore her.

Thursday, January 15, 2009

What is that smell?!

I have come to a conclusion. I am responsible for too many booties. Six to be exact, two of them I don't wipe but I do still have to pick up the poo: Cole, Sean, Katie, Bandit, Princess and my own. 6! I realized this because it is on my daily checklist of things to do. Making sure everyone has pooed for the day, and if not breaking out the apple juice or fiber bars.

"Mom! Come wipe my booty!"

"Cole, you need to learn to wipe it yourself."

"I can't do it!"

"You can, see you take the tissue like this and wipe from front to back. See, it's that easy."

"Mom. There is still poo on my butt."

"No there is not. Pull your pants up, flush the potty and wash your hands."

"Mom. There is poo on my butt."

"Cole, bend over and touch your toes. See, there is no poo on your butt and if you are going to be that critical of my butt wiping skills, then you really need to be wiping your own booty!"

Wednesday, January 14, 2009

Honest Scrap

So I have been tagged for a meme! I must say I am truly sorry to the others who have tagged me before, that I am responding this time and not when you tagged me. I wasn't trying to dis you. (Do people still say dis?) I just never knew what meme's were before and didn't know how to respond/participate. So I am with it now, I think? (dis, with it... I'm trying to hard, aren't I)

Helene at I'm Living Proof that God has a Sense of Humor tagged me! This is what it is:

a) first list 10 honest things about yourself - and make it interesting, even if you have to dig deep!
b) pass the award on to 7 bloggers that you feel embody the spirit of the Honest Scrap.

Let me dust off my brain and find something interesting about me.... Umm. Nope nothing....Okay some random facts will have to do....

1) I hate writing! Yep. Crazy enough, even though I blog for therapy and am now blogging on 2 sites, I hate writing. I have always thought of myself as a math person, and fear someone is going to call me out for the phony that I am with "this blogging thing."

2) I learned how to Rock Climb to get over my fear of heights. That is when I learned, I'm not afraid of heights. I am afraid of falling. BIG difference, especially when you realize it 200 ft above on a ledge that is about 2 inches deep, just big enough for your big toes.

3) I love the way Alex smells. I love it in the morning when he first gets out of the shower. It a mix of soap, toothpaste, shaving cream and his cologne. I love the way he smells after he has been outside working up a sweat and it's just his scent coming through, even without deodorant. I just breathe him in whenever I hug him.

4) I have a crazy ant phobia. I can handles spiders, snakes, whatever. Ants put me over the edge. I try to hide it in front of the kids, since it appeared I was passing on my crazy to them. There are pictures of me at 3 years old stomping on ants. I have always had nightmares about being smothered by ants and eaten alive.

5) I don't chew gum anymore. If I do chew a piece, I have nightmares about it that night. I think it goes back to when I had braces and it would get stuck in my braces. My nightmares are usually the same. The gum is stuck in my mouth and I can't get it out. I'm trying to talk and no one can understand me. As I pull the gum out, it gets stuck in my teeth and as I pull it out, it grows bigger and bigger.

6) I love chaos. I always thought I was a 'neat and orderly' type person. I'm not, I just didn't know myself very well. I have 3 young kids, my teenage niece, 2 dogs and my husband. I love when we have friends and family over and it really gets so chaotic then. You can put me in the kitchen cooking for everyone with the kids running around and underfoot, and I am happy as a clam. (hmm, are clams really happy?) I've have been trying unsuccessfully for fish or a bird. It is just too much for Alex. I think I have him at his breaking point already.

7) I feel guilty when I have any 'me' time. I have started working out and I have my blogs. I feel selfish by having these. I know they are a necessity to keep me sane so I have something to give, but I feel guilty none-the-less.

8) I like things even. Almost a little OC about it. If Alex gives me a kiss, I need a second one to make it even. Or if Cole kisses me on the cheek, he has to kiss me on the other cheek too, to be even. Even numbers and even sides. I want another baby so the family will be even, (Alex thinks I am totally nuts for that one!).

9) Confessions: I, sometimes, take the batteries out of toys that are really loud and obnoxious and tell Cole the batteries are dead or the toy is broke. (I like chaos? Didn't I just write that?) I sometimes move the clock up 10 minutes, so I can get Cole to bed if it's been a rough day.

10) I talk alot. I love to listen to others and about their lives, but I am afraid if I ask too many questions, I am prying. I don't know how to get people to tell me more about them, without seeming like I am playing 20 questions. So I sometimes start off a conversation about myself hoping they will turn around and talk about themselves. This doesn't always work, and I feel let down. I think that is why I love reading other people's blogs. They are sharing their lives with me. I love it!

I'm tagging:

Sara My Sippy Cup Runneth Over

Supermom The Adventures of Supermom

TwinMama Bringing Up Twins

Staci Momma's Gone Over The Wall

Denise The Not-So-Secret Life of Reagan's Mom
Here are the rules for the recipients:
1. Put the logo on your blog or post.
2. Nominate at least 10 blogs which show great Attitude and/or Gratitude!
3. Be sure to link to your nominees within your post.
4. Let them know that they have received this award by commenting on their blog.
5. Share the love and link to this post and to the person from whom you received your award.

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Mean People Suck!!!

Why do some people just feel the need to tear others down. Is that really how they makes themselves feel good? I know I always feel terrible when I may have said something to hurt some one's feelings.

Today was the big day! My picture of my FAT self was posted in the paper. Now before you go saying, "Ugh, there is another person putting herself down." That was the point of the article. It was a 'before' shot. I am working very hard on the 'after' shot. But being that this is the technical age, of course the pictures are online too, where dumb jerks have got to make their comments and make you feel bad. I'm not going to let it get to me.

I know the reason I am fat, fertility drugs, twin pregnancy, not eating properly and not exercising. This is not an excuse, it is a statement. The first year with twins, you put yourself on the back-burner. Right or wrong, it happens. The important part is realizing you are not taking care of yourself and doing something about it. So for all you "Anonymous" people out there making degrading remarks.....Put up or Shut Up!

Monday, January 5, 2009

Motivated!!!


I am waiting for the twins to wake up from their nap and just feel so motivated! I have so much on my to-do list and I am ready to tackle it. I had my first session with my trainer today. I was so nervous last night worrying about this morning. I could barely make myself eat, but knew I must. Will. Need. Energy. Crazy. Trainer! So got the kids dressed, fed, Olivia to school, myself showered (yes before I worked out! can't go in there and sweat when you already stinky!) and was there by 8:15 this morning for an 8:30 session. Wow I did it! Now just to work out!

Whoops, should've brought my cell phone with me. Trainer Betsy called twice this morning to let me know the renovation isn't complete and there won't be any equipment to work out on. Hmm. Slight problem. Well the staff called her since I was there, and Betsy, so sweet, came in and we did a health/medication assessment and talked about my food journal. So I didn't actually work out, per se. But she told me not to worry, we will still fit all of our sessions in this week. (GREAT! Can you hear the sarcasm dripping in my voice? No, well it's there. Trust me.)

Well at least I am motivated to take down the Christmas decorations (seriously!), clean out the van (annual chore. how old is that fry?), and go grocery shopping. That is grocery shopping at 3 different stores, thank you trainer Betsy! I guess that is her plan for making sure I get all my cardio in. Send a lady with 3 small children to 3 different stores, PLUS the regular errands....

Friday, January 2, 2009

New Year's Revolution

Happy New Year! Oh wait, that was yesterday's news. Along with a New Year, comes the "New Year's Revolution." Yep, you heard me right. Revolution! For me, this year, I can't just resolve to lose weight and get healthy. I need a Revolution; blood, tears and sweat will abound. The battleground will be the YMCA and I will follow my fearless leader, Betsy. She has fought this battle before, she has won the war herself and many have followed in her path. I am just the latest to fight the Revolution. I am grateful to have a skilled leader to follow. I, like so many others, have fought the battle and lost. I realize I will still be the one fighting the battle, but I hope having Betsy there to show me the way and give me the encouragement I need, I will win not just the battle of losing weight, but win the war to being healthy again. It is the biggest gift I can give my family.

I start training on Monday officially. I think I have my mindset ready. I look at everything I put into my mouth as energy. I need to make sure I take in enough energy, but take in too much and I'll be on the treadmill forever! So Alex, do me a favor please? Would you finish all the Christmas chocolates around the house so I don't have to look at them anymore?

Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Can we say, "Precocious?"


Precocious? Yes, that is exactly how I would describe Cole. He was full of himself today. He knows he is only allowed to paint when the twins are down for a nap, otherwise they get all in it and white carpets... need I say more? (White carpets were installed years before the kids were a thought! I know white, UGH! It's all Alex's fault.) Anyway. I was in the kitchen at 8 am getting a Pot Roast ready to go into the crock pot. I had fed the kids breakfast and the twins were taking their morning nap by 9. So I was trying to clean up and not paying full attention, when Cole walks into the kitchen.

"Mommy, do you want to see what I painted?" My heart starts throbbing, OMG! Did he just paint the walls or something?

"Yes, sweetheart. I would love to see what you painted!"

"Good, may I please have some water to paint with?" He got me! How do you say no to that?


Later he comes in the kitchen and shows me the map he has drawn to get to his school. Yes, I am still doing dishes after cleaning out the fridge and only half-listening. I should have learned after the painting. He realized I wasn't paying attention and in the most dramatic voice you've ever heard, he said, "MOM-MY!" claps his hands at me twice! "WHAT. IS. WRONG. WITH. YOU! I am talking! You need to listen with your ears!"

That evening after dinner, he comes to sit on my lap. He looks UP my nose and announces to Alex that I have a "burger" in my nose. So I start laughing and tell him to let me up so I can go blow my nose. He tells me to Wait, he opens my mouth and looks inside. "Good Job Mommy! We don't put picks in our mouths, they stay in our noses!" Picks is his other word, since I tell him not to pick his nose. Obviously, what comes out is a "Pick."

Luckily I haven't had to tell him this in months. But I will remember that day forever. I was driving the van and saw him pick his nose and, yep, you guessed it! UGH! So I may have over-reacted a little.

"Cole that is SO yucky! We don't blah, blah, blah..." You get the point. So what does the child do? He reaches back into his mouth, pulls it out and puts it back in his nose! "Mommy, the pick is back home now, it's okay!" As he is tapping his nostril.

Friday, December 26, 2008

Goodbye Spare Tire, Goodbye - you are outta here!

I am so happy I didn't win that blogging spot a few months ago! If I had, I wouldn't have this new, great opportunity! MomsCharlotte, The Charlotte Observer, and the YMCA are coming together to sponsor 3 Moms to lose weight and 1 to blog about it - ME!!! I will be blogging on the MomsCharlotte and the YMCA site. I will be featured with the other 2 Moms in the paper and the best part of it all....I will have a personal trainer 2x a week for 6 weeks, plus a nutrionist!!!!

I have met this trainer to do an assessment and to be frank, I'm scared! I could tell as soon as I saw her, I should be scared. So I am so grateful that I will have someone so dedicated to help me get healthy and in shape, so I will try not to cry, bitch and moan too much! This will start the week of Jan 4th, so I have a little bit of time to get my head in check!

I will finally get a better picture for my profile! Alex will be so happy!!!

Friday, December 19, 2008

I've been sucked in...

I have been sucked in. Sucked into the black hole that is called Facebook. I have had a couple of friends telling me I need to get a page. (Is that the correct terminology? page?) So I finally took the plunge and my fears were founded. I have been sucked into the abyss.

On the upside, I have found friends I haven't seen or spoken to in about 20 years. I am amazed they remember me. Don't know why, I remember them..why shouldn't they remember me? Just my craziness I guess. What is it about reaching into your past and bringing it forward to the present? I am almost giddy, as if my teenage self is meeting my current self. All of these people were a lifetime ago, it almost seems surreal. I don't even think I know who that teenage girl was. Was she a nice person or was she a little snot. I know who she has become and am proud to be her. Do I want these two worlds to collide? Is it safe?

Back to this world...I have so much shopping left to do and wrapping. UGH! I have a beans and ham hock recipe to put in the crock pot in preparation for the BIG game this weekend. Panthers @ Giants! Go Panthers!

Maybe I haven't changed that much after all. I was a cheerleader as a teen - Go Hurricanes! Now I'm still a cheerleader. A cheerleader for my husband, my family, and of course, my Cats!

Wednesday, December 10, 2008

We'll fix it Daddy!


This blog will be short and sweet. The other week Alex and Cole were snuggled up on the couch and I was on the the other couch. Alex was doing some research on the laptop for work and Cole was right there, glued to his side, watching TV. Out of the corner of my eye, I see Cole stand up and start rubbing the top of Alex's head. "Don't worry Daddy, we'll fix it!"

What in the world was that about? I pick up the remote (Thank God for TiVo) and rewound to the commercial that had just played. It was Rogaine with a new mousse product that is easier to rub in. Cole had just called Alex out for his thinning hair!

Alex was enjoying the head scratching he was getting and had no idea what was going on. I was laughing so hard, I threw a pillow over my face to hide the snorting. Alex asked what was going on, so I rewound the commercial so he could see it for himself. Got to love the honesty of a three year old. (He is so going to kill me for posting this!)

Sunday, December 7, 2008

Life - Moving at the Speed of Light

OK. So, "In the blink of an eye" was the name of my last blog and this is the first chance I have had to even get on the computer in almost a month. Just a little ironic. I'm behind on emails (not good when you are selling things on Craig's List), luckily our bills are on automatic draft, Whew! I don't think I knew what busy was 2 months ago compared to now. I can't even imagine 2 months from now when they are walking. Yes, they. My two beautiful little monsters. They are into everything!!!! And always in opposite directions. Then add in two dogs...I must be losing weight, I just don't even have time to weigh myself to see. I am in a smaller size pant... I think.

They
are pulling up and cruising just a little. Crawling is no problem, they want to be running so they are frustrated and yelling because they are too slow. Ok. So let's see, we had Thanksgiving dinner for (official count) 29 plus the baby shower. It all went extremely well. Unbelievably well. I think it may have been the best family get together ever for us. Alex's Dad is doing great, Amy is doing great, we had plenty of food to serve in at Thanksgiving in a recession. So we have our family has our health, we had food, and a new baby Gabriel came the Sunday before Thanksgiving. Life is good. It's these moments when you try to slow life down as much as you can and just breathe your life in. I am grateful for these moments. I want to record all these memories in slow motion in my mind. Sean, with his long reach, grabbing Cole's glass of water off the table and dumping it in Alex's napping face. Priceless. Ahhhh! Exhale